

# Motor Traffic (Amendment) Act 1990

No. 4 of 1990

## An Act to amend the Motor Traffic Act 1936

[Notified in ACT Gazette No. S 11: 9 March 1990]

The Legislative Assembly for the Australian Capital Territory enacts as follows:

### **Short title**

1. This Act may be cited as the Motor Traffic (Amendment) Act 1990.

## **Principal Act**

2. In this Act, "Principal Act" means the Motor Traffic Act 1936.

#### Learner drivers

- **3.** Section 9 of the Principal Act is amended by omitting paragraph (1A) (c) and substituting the following paragraphs:
  - "(c) in the case of a permit licence to ride a motor cycle—
    - (i) is at least 16 years and 9 months of age; and
    - (ii) has, within 3 months prior to applying for the permit licence, successfully completed a motor cycle rider training course approved by the Registrar by notice in the *Gazette*; or
  - (d) in any other case—is at least 16 years and 9 months of age.".

#### NOTE

1. Ordinance No. 45, 1936 as amended by Nos. 25 and 41, 1938; No. 16, 1941; No. 14, 1942; Nos. 2 and 13, 1943; No. 3, 1945; Nos. 6 and 13, 1947; No. 7, 1950; No. 17, 1951; Nos. 1 and 7, 1955; No. 6, 1956; No. 19, 1957; Nos. 10 and 15, 1958; Nos. 7 and 21, 1959; No. 11, 1960; Nos. 16 and 17, 1962; No. 21, 1963; No. 8, 1964; Nos. 9 and 13, 1965; No. 19, 1966 (as amended by No. 36, 1967); No. 2, 1968; Nos. 27 and 29, 1969; No. 27, 1970; Nos. 13, 17, 37 and 39, 1971; Nos. 3 and 10, 1972; Nos. 1, 32, 38, 41, 42 and 57, 1973; Nos. 4, 12, 23, 37, 48 and 49, 1974; Nos. 3, 16, 23, 31, 52 and 54, 1976; Nos. 16, 23, 30, 37, 51 and 59, 1977; Nos. 2, 31 and 46, 1978; No. 32, 1979; No. 33, 1980; Nos. 3, 8, 30, 31 and 33, 1981; No. 40, 1981 (as amended by No. 43, 1981); Nos. 6, 49, 50, 64 and 96, 1982; Nos. 14, 18 and 21, 1983; Nos. 1, 15, 44, 45 and 54, 1984; Nos. 2, 30, 31, 35, 49, 50, 63, 67 and 73, 1985; Nos. 3, 6, 34, 58, 77, 78, 81 and 87, 1986; Nos. 50 and 63, 1987; Nos. 9, 10, 11, 15, 16, 20 and 70, 1988; Nos. 6, 8, 21 and 38, 1989; Acts Nos. 20, 21 and 23, 1989.

[Presentation speech made in Assembly on 13 February 1990.]

© Australian Capital Territory 1990