

Cotter River Repeal Act 2000

No 7 of 2000

An Act to repeal the *Cotter River Act 1914* and for other purposes

[Notified in ACT Gazette No. 12: 23 March 2000]

The Legislative Assembly for the Australian Capital Territory enacts as follows:

1 Name of Act

This Act is the Cotter River Repeal Act 2000.

2 Commencement

This Act commences on the day it is notified in the Gazette.

3 Acts repealed

The following Acts are repealed:

Cotter River Act 1914 No 2

Cotter River Act 1919 No 4

Cotter River Repeal No 7, 2000

Cotter River Act 1928 No 9 Cotter River Act 1931 No 12

4 Consequential amendments of Bushfire Act

- (1) Section 2 of the *Bushfire Act 1936* is repealed.
- (2) Section 8 of the *Bushfire Act 1936* is amended by omitting "the area described in Schedule 1 to the *Cotter River Act 1914* shall be guilty of" and substituting "the Cotter River Reserve as described in the Schedule commits"; and
- (3) The Schedule to the *Bushfire Act 1936* is repealed and the following Schedule substituted:

SCHEDULE (See s 8)

The Cotter River Reserve is the land within the following boundary:

- from Coree Trigonometrical Station along a line bearing 54° 24′ for a distance of about 4.425 km to a range that forms the northern watershed of the Cotter River
- along that watershed in a generally easterly direction to Trigonometrical Station McDonald
- along a ridge southerly to the Cotter Weir
- along the ranges forming the eastern, southern and western watersheds of the Cotter River back to the Coree Trigonometrical Station.

[Presentation speech made in Assembly on 17 February 2000]

© Australian Capital Territory 2000