2000

THE LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY FOR THE AUSTRALIAN CAPITAL TERRITORY

(As presented)

(Minister for Urban Services)

Cotter River Repeal Bill 2000

A BILL

FOR

An Act to repeal the Cotter River Act 1914 and for other purposes

The Legislative Assembly for the Australian Capital Territory enacts as follows:

1 Name of Act

This Act is the Cotter River Repeal Act 2000.

5 2 Commencement

This Act commences on the day it is notified in the Gazette.

3 Acts repealed

The following Acts are repealed:

Cotter River Act 1914 No 2

Cotter River Act 1919 No 4

Cotter River Act 1928 No 9

Cotter River Act 1931 No 12

- 5 4 Consequential amendments of Bushfire Act
 - (1) Section 2 of the Bushfire Act 1936 is repealed.
 - (2) Section 8 of the *Bushfire Act 1936* is amended by omitting "the area described in Schedule 1 to the *Cotter River Act 1914* shall be guilty of' and substituting "the Cotter River Reserve as described in the Schedule commits"; and
 - (3) The Schedule to the *Bushfire Act 1936* is repealed and the following Schedule substituted:

SCHEDULE

(See s 8)

The Cotter River Reserve is the land within the following boundary:

- from Coree Trigonometrical Station along a line bearing 54° 24′ for a distance of about 4.425 km to a range that forms the northern watershed of the Cotter River
 - along that watershed in a generally easterly direction to Trigonometrical Station McDonald
 - along a ridge southerly to the Cotter Weir

10

along the ranges forming the eastern, southern and western watersheds of the Cotter River back
to the Coree Trigonometrical Station.