Public Place Names (Taylor) Determination 2022

Disallowable instrument DI2022-51

made under the

Public Place Names Act 1989, s 3 (Minister to determine names)

1 Name of instrument

This instrument is the *Public Place Names (Taylor) Determination* 2022.

2 Commencement

This instrument commences on the day after its notification day.

3 Determination of Place Name

I determine the place name as indicated in the schedule.

Ben Ponton Delegate of the Minister for Planning and Land Management 10 May 2022

Division of Taylor – Architecture, Town Planning and Urban Design

The location of the public place with the following name is indicated on the associated diagram.

NAME	ORIGIN	SIGNIFICANCE
John Tait Park	John James Tait	Architect, town planning, urban design
	(1942-2016)	John Tait commenced his career in the Commonwealth Department of Works in the early 1960s as a Cadet, subsequently graduating from the University of Sydney with a Bachelor of Architecture (1964), and the Australian National University with a Bachelor of Arts (1970). During the 1970s and 1980s Tait was a Principal Architect with the National Capital Development Commission (NCDC) in Canberra. For several years in the early to mid-1980s Tait was seconded to a United Nations aid programme on behalf of the Tanzanian Government to advise on architectural and planning projects for building Tanzania's new national capital, Dodoma. During the late 1980s he was Acting Director of Architectural Construction at the NCDC. In 1989 Tait established The Expert Client Pty Ltd, providing planning, urban design and architectural services to the public and private sectors. The Expert Client was commissioned by the ACT Government in 2015 to undertake the Taylor Residential Estate Master Plan, with Tait guiding the project. Tait provided early direction on the Throsby Infrastructure project (Gungahlin, ACT). The project subsequently received the 2018 Sir John Overall Award for Urban Design presented by the ACT Chapter of the Australian

Institute of Architects.





DIVISION OF TAYLOR