AUSTRALIAN CAPITAL TERRITORY

EXPLANATORY STATEMENT

CREDIT TRIBUNAL ACT 1985

INSTRUMENT OF APPOINTMENT

NO. 176 OF 1996

The Australian Capital Territory Credit Tribunal (the Credit Tribunal) is established under the *Credit Act 1985* (the Act). The Credit Tribunal hears certain kinds of disputes between parties to a credit transaction. The Credit Tribunal also holds disciplinary inquiries into the conduct of credit providers.

The Credit Tribunal consists of a Chairperson and two members. Provision is also made for an Acting Chairperson and two acting members who act on the Tribunal in the event of a vacancy or absence.

This instrument appoints:

KAREN MARGARET FRYAR

to act as a member and as Chairperson of the Credit Tribunal for the purposes of paragraph 185 (1) (a) of the Credit Act 1985

- (a) during a vacancy in the office of Chairperson; or
- (b) during any period or during all periods when the Chairperson is absent from duty or from the Territory or is, for any reason, unable to perform the duties of the office.

Pursuant to section 4 of the *Statutory Appointments Act 1994* the ACT Legislative Assembly Standing Committee on Legal Affairs has been consulted concerning the appointment. The Committee has advised that it has no objection to the appointment.

Authorised by Gary Humphries MLA Attorney-General

Authorised by the ACT Parliamentary Counsel-also accessible at www.legislation.act.gov.au