AUSTRALIAN CAPITAL TERRITORY

SURVEYORS ACT 1967

NO. 209 OF 1996

EXPLANATORY STATEMENT

The *Surveyors Act 1967* (the Act) provides for the establishment of the Surveyors Board of the Australian Capital Territory (the Board).

The principal functions of the Board are to examine candidates for registration, register cadastral surveyors in the ACT to perform surveys for land title purposes, issue certificates of competency and registration, maintain a register of cadastral surveyors, and regulate the making of land title surveys including the promulgation of standards and guidelines.

The Board also has the responsibility for reciprocal registration of cadastral surveyors from jurisdictions elsewhere in Australia and New Zealand and takes an interest in the adjudication of surveying qualifications from elsewhere in the world.

This instrument, pursuant to section 6 of the Act appoints members to the Board.

Members of the Board are appointed by the Minister. The Board consists of the Chief Surveyor and five other members. The Act requires that four of the five members must be registered surveyors. Members hold office for a period of two years and are eligible for reappointment.

Subsection 6(3) of the Act states that two of the members of the Board shall be persons appointed from a panel of three registered surveyors who are nominated by the Institution of Surveyors, Australia, Canberra Division. These two appointees are Mr Francis Searson and Mr James Riddell.

Subsection 6(4) of the Act states that at least two of the remaining members of the Board shall be persons who are registered surveyors. Two appointees, Mr Allan Mail and Mr Noel Oliver satisfy the requirements of subsection 6(4). Mr David Adams is the fifth appointee.

In accordance with the *Statutory Appointments Act 1994*, the appointments were referred to the Legislative Assembly's Standing Committee on Planning and Environment. The Committee endorsed the appointments at its meeting of 12 September 1996.

Authorised by the ACT Parliamentary Counsel-also accessible at www.legislation.act.gov.au