AUSTRALIAN CAPITAL TERRITORY

DRUGS OF DEPENDENCE ACT 1989

APPOINTMENT OF TREATMENT ASSESSMENT PANELS

EXPLANATORY STATEMENT

INSTRUMENT No's 265 - 277

The Drugs of Dependence Act 1989 provides for the establishment of Treatment Assessment Panels to assess clients referred from ACT Courts and to recommend treatment for these clients, where appropriate

Under Section 130 of the Act, it is a requirement of the Minister to appoint members of the Treatment Assessment Panel

Section 131 provides for the appointment of members of the Treatment Assessment Panel Section 133 provides for the appointment of presiding members of the Treatment Assessment Panel Section 134(1) provides for the appointment of an acting presiding member of the Treatment Assessment Panel

All appointees are current members of the Treatment Assessment Panel

Each Treatment Assessment Panel must comprise at least two expenenced treatment workers and one legal practitioner

The members of the Treatment Assessment Panel are

Marion Watson	Presiding Member	Treatment Worker
Maryanne Campbell	Presiding Member	Treatment Worker
Maurice O'Connoi	Acting Presiding Member	Treatment Worker
Marion Watson	Member	Treatment Worker
Maryanne Campbell	Member	Treatment Worker
Maurice O'Connor	Member	Treatment Worker
Janet Smith	Member	Treatment Worker
Jillian Fleming	Member	Treatment Worker
Lynne Magor Blatch	Member	Treatment Worker
Nerida Knight	Member	Treatment Worker
Allen Anforth	Member	Legal Practitioner
Adrian Bruce Vincent	Member	Legal Practitioner
Russell Thomas Bayliss	Member	Legal Practitioner

Members of Treatment Assessment Panels hold their position for a period of twelve months from the date of appointment

Four of the nominees to the Treatment Assessment Panel are subject to the Statutory Appointments Act 1994 All nominations were forwarded to the Standing Committee on Social Policy