Explanatory Statement

Health Professions Boards (Procedures) Podiatrists Board Appointment 2004 (No 1)

Disallowable Instrument DI2004-180

made under the

Health Professions Boards (Procedures) Act 1981, section 5 (Appointment of chairperson and members

The Board is established under Section 6 of the *Podiatrists Act 1994* and comprises the Chair and three other members, all of whom are to be appointed by the Minister in accordance with *the Health Professions Boards (Procedures) Act 1981*

The Act provides for the registration of podiatrists, to control the practice of podiatry, and for related purposes.

A person is not eligible for appointment as chairperson or as a member unless the person is a registered podiatrist in the ACT. The person also needs to have been, at all times during the immediately preceding three years, under the law of State or Territory, registered to practise in that State or Territory.

Consultation with the Standing Committee for Health has taken place in accordance with the *Legislation Act 2001*. This instrument makes an appointment to which the *Legislation Act 2001*, division 19.3.3 applies. Accordingly, the instrument is a disallowable instrument (see *Legislation Act 2001*, s 229).

Ms Sandra Moffat and Mr Clayton Clews are podiatrists in private practice; Mr James Walker is employed by ACT Health, as Senior Podiatrist, in Community Care. Ms Bazlun Nahar Bilkis is the Community Representative.