AUSTRALIAN CAPITAL TERRITORY NATURE CONSERVATION ACT 1980

Nature Conservation (Flora and Fauna Committee) Appointment 2004 (No 1)

Nature Conservation (Flora and Fauna Committee) Appointment 2004 (No 2)

Disallowable Instrument DI 2004-220

EXPLANATORY STATEMENT

These instruments are made under Sections 17 and 18 of the *Nature Conservation Act 1980.*

Section 17 of the Act provides that the Minister shall appoint members, two of whom shall not be public servants.

This instrument appoints 6 members. Five non-public servants and one public servant. Mr Paul Stevenson is a public Servant.

The members must have appropriate expertise in biodiversity or ecology, and will hold office as a part-time member for a period not exceeding three years.

Section 18 of the Act provides that the Minister shall appoint from the members a Chairperson and a Deputy Chairperson, who shall not be public servants. Chairperson, Dr Will Osbourne and Deputy Chairperson, Dr Suzanne Prober are not public servants.

The Legislative Assembly Standing Committee on Planning and Environment was consulted and has no objections to the appointments.

These appointments are disallowable instruments.