ACTION Authority (Appointment) 2005 (No 1)

Disallowable instrument DI2005-122

made under the

ACTION Authority Act 2001, Section 11 (Appointment of Directors) and Section 12 (Chairperson and deputy Chairperson)

EXPLANATORY STATEMENT

The ACTION Authority Act 2001 provides for the establishment of ACTION (the ACT Bus Service) as a statutory authority, governed by a Board.

The Board includes the Chief Executive of ACTION, who is appointed by the other Board members. All other Board members are appointed by the Minister.

The terms of the present Board members expire on 30 June 2005. The Minister is now appointing Board members for two and three year terms from 1 July 2005. The Board members are appointed for their experience and expertise in a variety of fields including transport policy and operations, finance, community representation and industrial relations. The appointments have been made according to the process laid down by the ACT Government, including review by a committee of the Legislative Assembly.

The Board members to be appointed are Mr Andrew Whitecross (chair), Mr Guy Thurston, Ms Cathi Moore, Mr Ian Thomson, Ms Meredith Hunter and Mr Al McLean. Mr Whitecross and Ms Moore are members of the current board and are being re-appointed.

The position of Chief Executive of ACTION, who is appointed by the Board and thus is not appointed by the Minister under the instrument, is currently Mr Peter Wallace.

The position of deputy chairperson is appointed by the Board and not by the Minister. The deputy chairperson will be appointed by the Board when it next meets.