## **Explanatory Statement**

## Radiation (Council) Appointment 2005 (No 2)

Disallowable instrument DI2005—202

made under the

Radiation Act 1983, s 8(2) (Membership of council)

The *Radiation Act 1983* governs the establishment and composition of the Radiation Council.

Section 8 of the Act deals with the membership of the Council.

This instrument refers to an appointment of a Council member under Section 8 (1) (b) of the Act, which refers to a member, being a person with expert knowledge of the physical properties or biological effects of ionising radiation, nominated by the Australian National University.

Section 8(2) requires appointments to be made by the Minister.

Section 8(3) of the Act requires the Minister to specify the period, not exceeding 3 years, of the term of office of the appointee.

This instrument has appointed Professor Leslie Keith Fifield as a member of the Radiation Council for a period of three years from the date of notification on the ACT Legislation Register.

As the appointee is not an ACT Public Servant, in accordance with the *Legislation Act* 2001 the consultations with the Standing Committee on Health and Disability took place on 19 August 2005. The Committee has noted the appointment and made no recommendations.