Australian Capital Territory

CANBERRA INSTITUTE OF TECHNOLOGY (ADVISORY COUNCIL) APPOINTMENT 2006 (No 2)

Disallowable instrument DI2006–16 made under the Canberra Institute of Technology Act 1987 section 30

EXPLANATORY STATEMENT

The Canberra Institute of Technology Act 1987 established an Advisory Council to advise the Director in respect of matters relating to the functions of the Institute.

Section 30 of the Act enables the Minister to appoint members to Council.

The Minister has re-appointed Dr Sarah Ryan as Council Chairperson for the period beginning on 1 January 2006 and ending on 31 March 2006.

The appointee is not a Public Servant and this instrument makes an appointment to which the *Legislation Act 2001*, Division 19.3.3 applies. Accordingly, under the *Legislation Act 2001*, s.229 the instrument is a disallowable instrument.

This appointment has been approved by the Minister for Education and Training and the Standing Committee on Education, Training and Young People has been consulted in accordance with section 28 (consultation with appropriate Assembly committee) of the *Legislation Act 2001.*

With reference to Section 76 of the *Legislation Act 2001*, no person's rights have been prejudicially affected, nor any liabilities imposed on any person (other than Territory or a Territory Authority) during this period of retrospectivity.