Explantory Statement

Physiotherapist Board of the ACT Appointments 2002 (No. 1)

Disallowable instrument DI2002—168

made under the

Physiotherapists Act 1977, section 6 (Establishment of the Physiotherapists Board)

The Board is established under Section 6 of the *Physiotherapists Act 19771* and comprises the Chairperson, and six other members. Of these seven, three are elected by the profession in accordance with the *Health Professions Boards (Elections) Act 1980* and four (including the Chairperson) are appointed by the Minister in accordance with the *Health Professions Boards (Procedures) Act 1981*.

The Act provides for the registration of physiotherapists and for other purposes. All registered physiotherapists were notified by circular of the forthcoming vacancies.

A person is not eligible for appointment unless the person is a registered physiotherapist in the ACT. The person also needs to have been, at all times during the immediately preceding three years entitled, under the law of a State or Territory, to practise physiotherapy in that State or Territory.

Consultation with the Standing Committee for Health has taken place in accordance with the *Legislation Act 2001*. This instrument makes an appointment to which the *Legislation Act 2001*, division 19.3.3 applies. Accordingly, the instrument is a disallowable instrument (see *Legislation Act 2001*, s 229).

Elizabeth Trickett, Jennifer Scarvell and Katrina Bracher are ACT public servants. Karen Murphy, Elizabeth Trickett, Jennifer Scarvell and Annette Cursley are nominated for the three year appointments, Dianna Howell and Katrina Bracher are nominated as 'acting members' until 21 November 2002.

Ms Murphy, who is currently an elected Board member, is the only nominee who has nominated for appointment as Chairperson. Ms Murphy will resign as an elected member in the event that she is appointed to this position.