Explanatory Statement

Health Professions Boards (Procedures) Optometrist Board Appointments 2002 (No. 1)

Disallowable instrument DI2002—175

made under the

Health Professions Boards (Procedures) Act 1981 (section 5, Appointment of Chairperson and Members)

The Optometrist Board is established under Section 6 of the *Optometrist Act 1956* and comprises the Chair, and two other members. Of these three, one is elected by the profession in accordance with the *Health Professions Boards (Elections) Act 1980;* and two (including the Chair) are appointed by the Minister in accordance with the *Health Professions Boards (Procedures) Act 1981.*

Consultation with the Standing Committee for Health has taken place in accordance with the *Legislation Act 2001*.

The Act provides for the registration of suitably qualified optometrists, to enable them to practice in the ACT.

A person is not eligible for appointment as a member unless the person is a registered optometrist in the ACT. The person also needs to have been, at all times during the immediately preceding 3 years entitled, under the law of a State or Territory, to practise optometry in that State or Territory.

Mrs Thomas is reappointed to the Board as Chairperson. Mrs Thomas has represented the Board as a member since 1991 and as Board Chairperson since 1995. Her experience in dealing with Board activities and her extensive management experience support her claim and she is well placed to undertake the responsibilities of this position.

Mr Mark Feltham is an optometrist currently employed in private practice in the ACT. He is the only optometrist who has nominated and is suitable and recommended for the appointment to the Board.

None of the appointees are public servants.

This instrument makes an appointment to which the <i>Legislation Act 2001</i> , division 19.3.3 applies. Accordingly, the instrument is a disallowable instrument (see <i>Legislation Act 2001</i> , s 229).