Explanatory Statement

Radiation (Council) Appointment 2006 (No 1)

Disallowable Instrument DI2006-181

made under the

Radiation Act 1983, s 8(2) (Membership of council)

The *Radiation Act 1983* governs the establishment and composition of the Radiation Council.

Section 8 of the Act deals with the membership of the Council and Section 8(2) requires appointments to be made by the Minister.

Section 8(3) of the Act requires the Minister to specify the period, not exceeding 3 years, of the term of office of the appointee.

This instrument has appointed Mr Anthony Agostino (nominee of the Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Organisation vis S 8(1) (c)) as Chairperson, and Mrs Jean Bennett and Mr Brendan Hill (both nominees of the Minister vis S 8(1)(d)) as Members of the Radiation Council for a period of three years.

In accordance with the *Legislation Act 2001* the consultations with the Standing Committee on Health and Disability took place on 12 July 2006. The Committee has noted the appointments and made no recommendations.