Explanatory Statement

Health Professionals (Chiropractors and Osteopaths Board) Appointment 2007 (No 1)

Disallowable instrument DI2007—23

made under the

Health Professionals Act 2004, Health Professionals Regulation 2004 section 5 (Board president) and section 10 (Appointment of board members)

Section 5 of the *Health Professionals Regulations 2004* states that the Minister must appoint a person to be president of a health profession board. Section 10 of the *Health Professionals Regulations 2004* states that the Minister may appoint a person to be a member of a health profession board. Schedule 13 to the *Health Professionals Regulations 2004* states that the ACT Chiropractors and Osteopaths Board is made up of the President and four appointed members and two elected members. The board must be comprised of three chiropractors, three osteopaths and one community representative.

The Act is to protect the public from risk of harm by ensuring that the people who provide health services regulated by the Act are competent to provide health services, and for other purposes.

A person is not eligible for appointment as president or as a member (except for the community representative) unless the person is a registered chiropractor or osteopath in the ACT. The person also needs to have been, at all times during the immediately preceding 3 years, under the law of State or Territory, registered to practise in that State or Territory.

This instrument makes an appointment to which the *Legislation Act 2001*, division 19.3.3 applies. Accordingly, the instrument is a disallowable instrument (see *Legislation Act 2001*, s 229) and applies to Michael Shobbrook (chiropractor), Peter Garbutt (chiropractor), Belinda Libbis (osteopath), Benjamin Field (osteopath) and Bruce Vincent (community representative).

Consultation with the Standing Committee for Health and Disability has taken place in accordance with the *Legislation Act 2001*.