Australian Capital Territory

## Nature Conservation (Flora and Fauna Committee) Appointment 2007 (No 2)

## Disallowable instrument DI2007–31

made under the

*Nature Conservation Act 1980*, section 18 (Appointment of chairperson and deputy chairperson)

## **EXPLANATORY STATEMENT**

This instrument is made under Section 18 of the *Nature Conservation Act 1980.* 

Section 18 of the Act provides that the Minister shall appoint from the members of the Flora and Fauna Committee a Chairperson and a Deputy Chairperson, who shall not be public servants.

Professor Arthur Georges (Chair) and Dr Penny Olsen (Deputy Chair) are not public servants.

The ACT Legislative Assembly Standing Committee on Planning and Environment was consulted and has no objections to the appointments.

These appointments are disallowable instruments.