Australian Capital Territory

Territory Records (Advisory Council) Appointment 2008 (No 1)

Disallowable instrument DI2008–20

made under the

Territory Records Act 2002, S 44 (Appointed members of council)

EXPLANATORY STATEMENT

The *Territory Records Act 2002* provides for the establishment and functions of Territory Records Advisory Council.

Section 44 of the *Territory Records Act 2002* outlines the appointment requirements to the Council:

Section 46 outlines the terms of appointment of appointed members.

Mr Steve Stuckey has been nominated as Chair of the Territory Records Advisory Council. Mr Stuckey is appointed for a three year term. Mr Steve Stuckey also represents professional organisations interested in records management and archives and is nominated by the Australian Society of Archivists.

Ms Veronica Pumpa has been nominated as Deputy Chair. Ms Pumpa has been nominated to represent professional organisations interested in records management and archives and is nominated by the Records Management Association of Australasia. Ms Pumpa is appointed for a three year term.

Dr David Headon has been nominated to represent community associations interested in historical or heritage issues. Dr Headon is a cultural consultant and historian and is a regular commentator on cultural, political and social issues. He is appointed for a three year term.

Mr Greg Wood has been nominated to represent community associations interested in historical or heritage issues. Mr Wood is nominated by the Canberra branch of the Australian Map Circle and is appointed for a three year term.

Ms Rebecca Stubbs has been nominated to represent entities interested in Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander heritage. The person nominated to this position must be an Aboriginal or Torres Strait Islander. Ms Stubbs is appointed for a three year term.

These are not public servant appointments.