Explanatory Statement

Liquor Licensing Board Appointment 2008 (No 2)

Disallowable Instrument DI2009-273

made under the

Liquor Act 1975, s 12(1)(a) (Membership of board)

Under section 12 of the *Liquor Act 1975* (the Act), the Liquor Licensing Board (the Board) is constituted by a Chairperson appointed by the Minister, the Registrar of Liquor Licences, and three other members appointed by the Minister. Section 13 of the Act requires that the Minister shall not appoint a person to be the chairperson unless the person has been a lawyer for not less than five years. Members other than the Registrar hold office on a part-time basis for such period as specified in the instrument of appointment.

The Board is a body established under Part 2 of the Act to promote and encourage responsibility in the sale and consumption of liquor by considering and determining applications or other matters referred to it; conducting inquiries including formal hearings in relation to applications or other matters referred to it; advising the Minister, as required, on matters of policy and administration; and exercising the other functions given to it.

The signed Disallowable Instrument appoints Ms Robyn Davies. Ms Davies is appointed for the period 14 November 2009 until 30 June 2009.

Ms Davies is not a public servant as defined in the *Legislation Act 2001*.