EXPLANATORY STATEMENT AUSTRALIAN CAPITAL TERRITORY ADVISORY COUNCIL ORDINANCE 1986

NO.62 OF 1986

The Advisory Council Ordinance 1986 abolishes the Australian Capital Territory House of Assembly and provides for the establishment of an Australian Capital Territory Advisory Council, with the function of advising the Minister for Territories on matters affecting the Territory as requested by the Minister.

Section 1 cites the short title of the Ordinance.

Section 2 repeals the Ordinances establishing the ACT House of Assembly (known formerly as the Advisory Council or, later, the Legislative Assembly).

Section 3 deals with interpretation.

Section 4 establishes the ACT Advisory Council.

Section 5 provides that the Council's function is to advise the Minister on matters affecting the Territory which are referred to it by the Minister.

Section 6 provides that the Council will comprise a President and 12 Councillors appointed by the Minister.

Section 7 provides for the appointment of a Councillor to perform the President's functions when necessary.

Section 8 provides for the Councillors' remuneration.

Section 9 provides for the expiration of Councillors' appointments, their right to resign and the Minister's power to remove them.

Section 10 governs the convening of, and procedure at, Council meetings.

Section 11 provides that the President shall, on the Minister's behalf, perform such civic duties as the Minister directs.

Section 12 enables the Minister to make regulations to give effect to the Ordinance.

The Schedule lists the Ordinances repealed by Section 2.