Canberra Institute of Technology (Advisory Council) Appointment 2010 (No 2)

Disallowable instrument DI2010-162

made under the

Canberra Institute of Technology Act 1987, section 31 (appointment of council members)

EXPLANATORY STATEMENT

The *Canberra Institute of Technology Act 1987* governs the establishment, functions and membership of the Canberra Institute of Technology Advisory Council (CITAC).

Section 31 of the Act enables the Minister to appoint members to the Advisory Council. It requires the Minister to ensure that there is always –

- 1 member who represents an organisation that represents the teaching staff;
- 1 member who represents the student body;
- 7 members who represent the interests of industry and commerce;
- 2 members, not representing the interest of industry or commerce, who have experience and knowledge relevant to the functions of the council;
- 1 member who has skills in and knowledge of vocational education and training.

The Minister for Education and Training, Andrew Barr MLA, has appointed Philippa Mylchreest as a member who represents students form the day after notification for the term of 12 months.

The appointee is not public servant and this instrument makes an appointment to which the *Legislation Act 2001*, Division 19.3.3 applies. Accordingly, under the *Legislation Act 2001* section 229, the instrument is a disallowable instrument of the *Legislation Act 2001*.

The Standing Committee on Education, Training and Youth Affairs has been consulted in accordance with section 228 (consultation with appropriate Assembly Committee) of the *Legislation Act 2001*.