AUSTRALIAN CAPITAL TERRITORY

Health Professions Boards (Procedures) – Psychologists Board of the ACT Appointments 2003 (No.1)

DISALLOWABLE INSTRUMENT DI2003-42

EXPLANATORY STATEMENT

The Board is established under Section 6 of the *Psychologists Act 1994* and comprises the Chair and six other members, all of whom are to be appointed by the Minister in accordance with *the Health Professions Boards (Procedures) Act 1981*. Section 7 of the Act stipulates that the Chair and five members are to be registered psychologists and one member is to be a person who is not entitled to be registered by a Health Professions Board.

The Act provides for the registration of psychologists and for related purposes. All registered psychologists were notified by circular of the forthcoming term of office. The closing date for nominations was 15 November 2002.

A person is not eligible for appointment as a Board member unless the person is a registered psychologist in the ACT. The person also needs to have been, at all times during the immediately preceding 3 years, under the law of State or Territory, registered to practise in that State or Territory.

Consultation with the Standing Committee for Health has taken place in accordance with the *Legislation Act 2001*. This instrument makes an appointment to which the *Legislation Act 2001*, division 19.3.3 applies. Accordingly, the instrument is a disallowable instrument (see *Legislation Act 2001*, s 229).

The appointee, Janine Mahoney, is not a public servant.