AUSTRALIAN CAPITAL TERRITORY

LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY ORDINANCE 1974

EXPLANATORY MEMORANDUM

The Advisory Council Ordinance 1936-1974 provides for an Advisory Council, comprising eight elected members and four appointed members, to advise the Minister on any matter affecting the Territory including the making and amendment of Ordinances.

The Legislative Assembly Ordinance 1974 will amend the Advisory Council Ordinance to change the name of the Council to the Australian Capital Territory Legislative Assembly. The number of members will be increased to eighteen elected members, nine being elected from each of the A.C.T. divisions of Canberra and Fraser. There will be no appointed members. The functions of the Legislative Assembly will be the same as those of the Council.

The proposed Ordinance will also amend the Advisory Council Ordinance to take cognizance of the partition of the A.C.T. into two divisions.

Minister's Initials

Authorised by the ACT Parliamentary Counsel-also accessible at www.legislation.act.gov.au