## Children and Young People (Death Review Committee) Appointment 2012 (No 1)

## Disallowable instrument DI2012-6

made under the

Children and Young People Act 2008, Section 727D (Appointment of committee members)

## **EXPLANATORY STATEMENT**

Chapter 19A of the *Children and Young People Act 2008* provides for the establishment of the Children and Young People Death Review Committee.

Section 727D (1) of this Chapter requires the Minister to appoint at least 8, but not more than 10, members to the Children and Young People Death Review Committee. The Minister must, unless it is not reasonably practicable, ensure the Committee includes people with experience or expertise in: psychology, paediatrics, epidemiology, child forensic medicine, public health administration, education, engineering and child safety products or systems, working with Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander children and young people, social worker and a police officer with experience in working with children and young people. The Minister has taken all reasonable steps to comply with the Act.

The Disallowable Instrument appoints the following persons as members of the Children and Young People Death Review Committee: Ms Samantha Page, Dr Michael Rosier, Dr Alison Kent, Dr Sue Packer, Ms Louise Freebairn, Dr Catherine Sansum, Mr Eric Chalmers, Ms Julie Tongs and Sergeant Sue Smith. The term of the appointment is for a period of three years.

This Disallowable Instrument is necessary to provide the appointee with the statutory authority to perform the functions of members of the Children and Young People Death Review Committee pursuant to the provisions of the *Children and Young People Act 2008*.