AUSTRALIAN CAPITAL TERRITORY

Health Professions Boards (Procedures) Act 1981

Pharmacy Act 1931

INSTRUMENT NO. 232 OF 2001

Explanatory Statement

The Pharmacists Board is established under Section 5(1) of the *Pharmacy Act 1931* (the Act). Section 6(1)(a) of the Act provides for the Board to comprise of a chairperson and three members to be appointed by the Minister in accordance with the *Health Professions Boards (Procedures) Act 1981*. In order to be eligible for appointment the members must be registered pharmacists and must at all times during the period of three years immediately preceding the appointment, have been entitled, under a law of a State or Territory, to practice as a pharmacist in that State or Territory.

This extension of Board appointments will facilitate the transition process from the existing Acts to the proposed omnibus Health Professions Bill by permitting current experienced Board members to contribute to the planning processes.

The attached instrument appoints Mr William Edwin Arnold to be a member of the Pharmacists Board under Section 6(1)(a) of the Act, for the period from the date of gazettal of the instrument to 30 June 2002.