AUSTRALIAN CAPITAL TERRITORY

LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY ORDINANCE 1936-1974

LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY (ELECTION) REGULATIONS

EXPLANATORY MEMORANDUM

No. 10 of 1974

The proposed amendments of the Advisory Council Election Regulations are consequential on the amending of the Principal Ordinance to change the name of the Advisory Council to the Australian Capital Territory Legislative Assembly and to increase the number of members to 18 elected members, and the partition of the A.C.T. into two electoral divisions (Canberra and Fraser).