AUSTRALIAN CAPITAL TERRITORY

MARKETABLE SECURITIES REGULATIONS

EXPLANATORY MEMORANDUM

No. 1 of 1971

In accordance with a decision of the Standing Committee of Commonwealth and State Attorneys-General, the new uniform marketable securities legislation will be brought into operation in the Australian Capital Territory and in New South Wales, Queensland, South Australia, Victoria and Western Australia on 1 July 1971.

- 2. To ensure that the operation of the new legislation is uniformly effective throughout this area it is necessary to prescribe the legislation of the above five States as 'corresponding laws' for the purpose of the Marketable Securities Ordinance 1971 of the Australian Capital Territory.
- 3. The Tasmanian Act and the Northern Territory Ordinance have not yet been made, and it will be necessary to prescribe them as 'corresponding laws' at a later date.