# **AUSTRALIAN CAPITAL TERRITORY**

### **HOTEL SCHOOL ACT 1996**

### **APPOINTMENT**

### **EXPLANATORY STATEMENT**

## **INSTRUMENT NO. 156 OF 2001**

The *Hotel School Act 1996* established a Board to manage the affairs of the School, decide the strategies and policies to be followed by the school and ensure the efficient and cost effective functioning of the school.

Section 16 enables the Minister to appoint non-executive members to the Board. The Minister has appointed Ms Ruth Dunkin and Dr David Butler as members and Professor Thomas Cullen as alternate member of the Hotel School Board of the Australian Capital Territory until 27 February 2002.

These appointments have been approved by Cabinet and the Standing Committee on Finance and Administration has been consulted in accordance with Section 4 of the Statutory Appointments Act 1994.