Exhibition Park Corporation (Governing Board) Appointments 2013 (No 1)

Disallowable Instrument DI2013—74

made under the

Exhibition Park Corporation Act 1976, s 8 (Establishment of governing board), s 9 (Governing board members)

Financial Management Act 1996, s 78 (Appointment of governing board members generally), s 79 (Appointment of chair and deputy chair)

EXPLANATORY STATEMENT

Section 8 of the *Exhibition Park Corporation Act 1976* establishes the governing board for the Exhibition Park Corporation (the corporation).

Section 9 of the *Exhibition Park Corporation Act 1976* requires that the governing board must have at least 3 and not more than 5 members and that the chair and deputy chair of the governing board must be appointed under Section 79 of the *Financial Management Act 1996* (the FMA).

Section 78 of the FMA provides for the appointment of members to governing boards of Territory authorities generally and section 79 of the FMA provides for the appointment of chairs and deputy chairs to those governing boards. The corporation is a Territory authority for the purposes of the FMA.

This instrument appoints Mr John Arthur Haskins AM as Chair of the governing board of the corporation for a period of one year commencing on 16 June 2013.

As Mr Haskins is not a public servant, the *Legislation Act 2001*, Division 19.3.3 applies. Accordingly, under section 229 of that Act, this instrument is a Disallowable Instrument.

Prior to making this appointment, the Minister for Tourism and Events consulted with the Legislative Assembly's Standing Committee on Public Accounts in accordance with section 228 of the *Legislation Act 2001*.