Australian Capital Territory

## Emergencies (Bushfire Council Members) Appointment 2013 (No 1)

**Disallowable instrument DI2013–205** 

made under the

Emergencies Act 2004, s 129 (Bushfire council members)

## EXPLANATORY STATEMENT

The Bushfire Council, established under section 127 of the *Emergencies Act 2004*, has the function of advising the Minister about matters relating to bushfires.

Under section 129 (1) of the *Emergencies Act 2004* the Minister must appoint members of the Bushfire Council. Under section 129 (2) the Minister must try to ensure that people with particular skills, interests and experience are among the members appointed. The appointments are made according to these requirements.

The instrument appoints Ms Cathy Parsons as the Deputy Chairperson of the Bushfire Council. The appointment commences for a period of three (3) years on the day after notification of the instrument and expiring on 30 September 2016.

Ms Parsons is not a public servant as defined under the Legislation Act 2001.

The Standing Committee on Justice and Community Safety has been consulted on the appointment as required under the provisions of the *Legislation Act 2001*. The Committee advised that it had no concerns with the appointment.