Public Place Names (Canberra Central and Majura Districts) Determination 2014 (No 1)

Disallowable Instrument DI2014 - 19

made under the

Public Place Names Act 1989 — section 3 (Minister to determine names)

EXPLANATORY STATEMENT

The *Public Place Names Act 1989* provides for the naming of divisions and public places and, in particular, section 3 empowers the Minister to determine the name of a division or public place in writing. A determination is a disallowable instrument and must be notified in the ACT Legislation Register.

Pursuant to section 254A of the *Legislation Act 2001*, the Minister has delegated the power under the *Public Place Names Act 1989* to name a division or public place to delegated officers of the Environment and Sustainable Development Directorate.

Section 46 of the *Legislation Act 2001* specifies that power given under an Act to make an instrument includes the power to amend or repeal the instrument.

This instrument AMENDS Disallowable Instrument DI1992-161, notified in the ACT Legislation Register on 11 November 1992. The amendment corrects a discrepancy regarding the extent of 'Dairy Road' in the Division of Fyshwick, Canberra Central District.

This instrument DETERMINES the name of a major road, 'Majura Parkway' in the Canberra Central and Majura Districts and describes changes to the extent of roads 'Monaro Highway' and 'Morshead Drive' as delineated in the plan on page 4.

The Majura Parkway passes through the Majura District to connect the Monaro Highway with the Federal Highway.