Australian Capital Territory

Emergencies (Bushfire Council Members) Appointment 2014 (No 1)

Disallowable instrument DI2014–252

made under the

Emergencies Act 2004, s 129 (Bushfire council members)

EXPLANATORY STATEMENT

The Bushfire Council, established under section 127 of the *Emergencies Act 2004*, has the function of advising the Minister about matters relating to bushfires.

Under section 129 (1) of the *Emergencies Act 2004* the Minister must appoint members of the Bushfire Council. Under section 129 (2) the Minister must try to ensure that people with particular skills, interests and experience are among the members appointed. The appointments are made according to these requirements.

Ms Marion Leiba has been a member of the ACT Bushfire Council since 2008. Ms Leiba has a wealth of experience in relation to fire sciences, representing the community's interest in the environment and the community's interests generally. She has extensive experience in science communication, hazard and risk assessment and historical research into natural hazard events.

The instrument appoints Ms Marion Leiba as a Member of the Bushfire Council. The appointment commences on 1 October 2014 for a period of three (3) years and expires on 30 September 2017.

Ms Marion Leiba is not a public servant as defined under the Legislation Act 2001.

The Standing Committee on Justice and Community Safety has been consulted on the appointment as required under the provisions of the *Legislation Act 2001*. The Committee advised that it had no concerns with the appointment.