AUSTRALIAN CAPITAL TERRITORY

Health Professions Boards (Procedures) – Chiropractors and Osteopaths Board of the ACT 2003 (No.1)

DISALLOWABLE INSTRUMENT DI2003-166

EXPLANATORY STATEMENT

The Board is established under Section 6 of the *Chiropractors and Osteopaths Act 1983* and comprises the Chair and four other members, two of whom are to be appointed by the Minister in accordance with *the Health Professions Boards (Procedures) Act 1981*. Two other members are to be elected in accordance with the *Health Professions Boards (Elections) Act 1980*.

The Act provides for the control of the practice of chiropractic and osteopathy and for related purposes. All registered chiropractors and osteopaths were notified by circular of the forthcoming term of office. The closing date for nominations was 31 October 2002.

A person is not eligible for appointment as chair or as a member unless the person is a registered chiropractor or osteopath in the ACT. The person also needs to have been, at all times during the immediately preceding 3 years, under the law of State or Territory, registered to practise in that State or Territory.

Consultation with the Standing Committee for Health has taken place in accordance with the *Legislation Act 2001*. This instrument makes an appointment to which the *Legislation Act 2001*, division 19.3.3 applies. Accordingly, the instrument is a disallowable instrument (see *Legislation Act 2001*, s 229).

None of the appointees are public servants.