Australian Capital Territory

## Crimes (Sentence Administration) (Sentence Administration Board) Appointment 2017 (No 9)

**Disallowable instrument DI2017-40** 

made under the

Crimes (Sentence Administration) Act 2005, s174 (Appointment of board members)

## **EXPLANATORY STATEMENT**

The *Crimes (Sentence Administration)* Act 2005 (the Act), amongst other things, governs the constitution and functions of the Sentence Administration Board of the ACT (the board). The board's functions are detailed under section 172 of the Act, and sections 171 and 173-4 provide for the establishment and membership of the board. Under section 174 of the Act, the Minister is required to appoint a chairperson; at least one deputy chairperson (and not more than two deputy chairpersons) and not more than eight other members to the Board.

This instrument appoints Ms Deborah Evans as a non-judicial member of the Sentence Administration Board for the period commencing 14 May 2017 and ending on 13 May 2020.

Ms Evans is currently a non-judicial member of the Sentence Administration Board. Her current appointment ends on 13 May 2017. Ms Evans has experience in the human services and justice sectors with a focus on working with Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people. She is an experienced senior manager with a background in community capacity building through education and training, management and development within the justice system. Ms Evans is not a public servant.