## AUSTRALIAN CAPITAL TERRITORY

## Health Professions Boards (Procedures) – Pharmacy Board of the ACT 2003 (No.1)

## **DISALLOWABLE INSTRUMENT DI2003-188**

## **EXPLANATORY STATEMENT**

The Board is established under Section 5 of the *Pharmacy Act 1931* and comprises the Chair and six other members, three of whom are to be appointed by the Minister in accordance with *the Health Professions Boards (Procedures) Act 1981*. Three other members are to be elected in accordance with the *Health Professions Boards (Elections) Act 1980*.

The Act provides for the registration of pharmacists, to control the practice of pharmacy, and for related purposes.

A person is not eligible for appointment as chairperson or as a member unless the person is a registered pharmacist in the ACT. The person also needs to have been, at all times during the immediately preceding 3 years, under the law of State or Territory, registered to practise in that State or Territory.

Consultation with the Standing Committee for Health has taken place in accordance with the *Legislation Act 2001*. This instrument makes an appointment to which the *Legislation Act 2001*, division 19.3.3 applies. Accordingly, the instrument is a disallowable instrument (see *Legislation Act 2001*, s 229).

Mrs Alexander is employed by ACT Health as the Chief Pharmacist at The Canberra Hospital, therefore is not included on the Disallowable Instrument. Mr O'Connor is a retail pharmacist and is not a public servant.