Electoral Commission (Electoral Commissioner) Appointment 2017 (No 1)

Disallowable instrument DI 2017- 255

made under the

Electoral Act 1992, section 12 (Appointment)

EXPLANATORY STATEMENT

Electoral Commissioner Phillip Green resigned by letter to the Speaker on 2 August 2017. Section 12 of the *Electoral Act 1992* provides for the Speaker to appoint members of the Electoral Commission. This instrument appoints Damian Cantwell AM as Electoral Commissioner of the Electoral Commission. The appointment commences on 1 November 2017 and ends on 31 October 2022.

Section 12(2) of the *Electoral Act 1992* requires that the appointment must be made on the advice of the relevant Assembly committee and the Speaker must consult with the Chief Minister, Leader of the Opposition and the leader of any registered party to which neither the Chief Minister or Leader of the Opposition belong if at least 2 members of the Legislative Assembly are members of the party, and in accordance with an open and accountable selection process. The appointment is made on the advice of the Standing Committee on Justice and Community Safety. The Speaker undertook the required consultation and no objections to the proposed appointment were received. The Speaker is confident the appointment is made after an open and accountable selection process.

The Speaker is satisfied that the appointee meets the requirements for appointment set out in section 12(3) of the *Electoral Act 1992* and is not disqualified from being appointed by any reason set out in section 12B of the *Electoral Act 1992*.

The instrument of appointment is a disallowable instrument.