Crimes (Sentence Administration) (Sentence Administration Board) Appointment 2017 (No 14)

Disallowable instrument DI2017-278

made under the

Crimes (Sentence Administration) Act 2005, s 174 (1) (c) (Appointment of board members)

EXPLANATORY STATEMENT

The *Crimes (Sentence Administration) Act 2005* (the Act), among other things, governs the constitution and functions of the Sentence Administration Board of the ACT (the board). The board's functions are detailed under section 172 of the Act, and sections 171 and 173-4 provide for the establishment and membership of the board. Under section 174 of the Act, the Minister is required to appoint a chairperson; at least one deputy chairperson (and not more than two deputy chairpersons) and not more than eight other members to the Board.

This instrument appoints Ms Diane Bray as a non-judicial member of the Sentence Administration Board for the period commencing on the day after this instrument is notified and ending on 13 May 2020.

Ms Bray brings to the board her experience in a wide variety of public positions such as Public Trustee for the ACT, Chair of the ACT Public Cemeteries Authority Board and working with the ACT Legal Aid Commission. She continues to have an interest in a wide range of charitable and not for profit organisations including as Chair of Hands Across Canberra, Chair of Common Ground Canberra and was recently appointed as Chair of the Social Enterprise Task Force for the Canberra Business Chamber.

Ms Bray is not a public servant.