## Gene Technology (GM Crop Moratorium) Advisory Council Appointment 2017 (No 4)

Disallowable instrument DI2017—300

made under the

Gene Technology (GM Crop Moratorium) Act 2004, section 11 (Advisory Council)

## **EXPLANATORY STATEMENT**

The ACT Gene Technology Advisory Council (the Council) is established under section 11 of the *Gene Technology (GM Crop Moratorium) Act 2004* (the Act). Under subsection 11(2) of the Act, the Council consists of eight (8) members, appointed by the Minister for Health.

Under subsection 11(3) of the Act, the Minister must try to ensure that the following people are appointed as members: a person nominated by the chief executive who is to be the chairperson of the advisory council; a person nominated by the Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation (CSIRO); a person nominated by a university based in the ACT who has professional skills or experience in research in a field relevant to gene technology; a person nominated by the ACT Rural Lessees' Association; a person nominated by the Conservation Council of ACT Region Inc; a person nominated by the Canberra Region Branch Biotechnology Group of AusBiotech; a person who has professional skills or experience in the marketing of food crops; and a person to represent the community generally.

The purpose of the Act is to designate the ACT as an area in which certain genetically modified (GM) food plants may not be cultivated, in order to preserve the identity of GM and/or non-GM crops for marketing purposes.

Dr Anthony Griffin is appointed as a member of the Council for a term commencing the day following notification and ending on 6 November 2020. All members of the ACT Gene Technology Council are part time.

Dr Anthony Griffin is appointed to the Council as a person with appropriate skills nominated by the ACT Rural Landholders Association.