## Medicines, Poisons and Therapeutic Goods (Medicines Advisory Committee) Appointment 2018 (No 1)

## Disallowable instrument DI2018-26

made under the

Medicines, Poisons and Therapeutic Goods Regulation 2008, section 635 (Medicines advisory committee - membership)

Medicines, Poisons and Therapeutic Goods Act 2008, section 194 (Establishment of medicines advisory committee)

## **EXPLANATORY STATEMENT**

This instrument, made under section 635 of the Medicines, Poisons and Therapeutic Goods Regulation and section 194 of the *Medicines, Poisons and Therapeutic Goods Act 2008*, appoints Ms Amanda Galbraith as a member of the Medicines Advisory Committee

The Medicines Advisory Committee is established by section 194 of the *Medicines*, *Poisons and Therapeutic Goods Act 2008*. In accordance with section 635(2) of the Medicines, Poisons and Therapeutic Goods Regulation 2008, all members appointed to the Committee (other than a person mentioned in subsections 635(3)(d) or (e)) are doctors.

Pursuant to section 635 (3)(d) of the Medicines, Poisons and Therapeutic Goods Regulation 2008, Ms Amanda Galbraith is appointed as a member who is a pharmacist.

The Minister has consulted with the Standing Committee on Health, Ageing, Community and Social Services, the ACT Office for Women, the Office for Multicultural Affairs, the Office for LGBTIQ Affairs and the Office for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Affairs on this member appointment. Broad consultation on member appointments helps ensure that qualified people with a range of backgrounds are available for consideration.

The person appointed to the Medicines Advisory Committee by this instrument is not a public servant. Accordingly, this instrument is a disallowable instrument under section 229 of the Legislation Act 2001.

The appointments are made for a period of three years commencing on the day after notification.