Climate Change and Greenhouse Gas Reduction (Climate Change Council Chair) Appointment 2018 (No 1)

Disallowable instrument DI2018-105

made under the

Climate Change and Greenhouse Gas Reduction Act 2010, s 21 (Chair)

EXPLANATORY STATEMENT

Overview

The Climate Change and Greenhouse Gas Reduction Act 2010 (the Act) section 20 (Membership) provides for the appointment to the ACT Climate Change Council (Council) of suitably qualified members of the community to provide advice to the Minister on matters relating to the reduction of greenhouse gas emissions and adaptation to climate change. The appointment for the non-public employee members of the Council is by way of a disallowable instrument which must be notified on the Legislation Register and tabled in the Legislative Assembly under the Legislation Act 2001 (Legislation Act).

Section 20(3) of the Act provides that the Minister may appoint a person as a member to the Council only if satisfied that the person is committed to addressing climate change and has knowledge and experience in an area relevant to the operation of the Act.

Section 21 of the Act requires the Minister to appoint a member of the council to be the chair of the council.

Appointments

The disallowable instrument appoints Professor Barbara Norman as chair of the Council. Professor Norman is not a public servant.

Professor Norman is appointed as Chair of the Council for the period 2 March 2018 until 30 June 2019. This coincides with Professor Norman's period of appointment, made through a separate instrument, as a member of the Council, where she is appointed to represent the built environment.

Professor Norman is the Foundation Chair of Urban and Regional Planning in the Faculty of Business, Government and Law at the University of Canberra. Professor Norman is Director of Canberra Urban and Regional Futures (CURF) and an Adjunct Professor with the Australian National University (ANU). Professor Norman is a Life Fellow and past National President of the Planning Institute of Australia and a Life Honorary Fellow of the Royal Town Planning Institute (UK).

Professor Norman advises public and private sectors in Australia and has strong international linkages within Asia, Europe and the United States. She was a contributing author to the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC) Fifth Assessment Report (AR5) Working Group 2 (WGII) "Impacts", 2014, and was awarded an Australian Centenary Medal for her contribution to the community through urban and regional planning.

The appointment has been made by the Minister for Climate Change and Sustainability. The Minister consulted the Standing Committee on Environment and Transport and City Services in accordance with section 228 (Consultation with appropriate Assembly committee) of the *Legislation Act 2001*. The Standing Committee did not provide any comment in relation to the proposed reappointment.

A Regulatory Impact (RIS) is not required for this disallowable instrument as it is unlikely to impose appreciable costs on the community (section 34(1) of the Legislation Act). Further, in accordance with section 36(1)(b) of the Legislation Act, a RIS is not necessary as the matter does not operate to the disadvantage of anyone by adversely affecting the person's rights or imposing liabilities on the person.

Outline of provisions

Section 1 – Name of instrument

This section names the instrument.

Section 2 – Commencement of appointment

This section provides for the commencement of the instrument. The instrument is taken to have commenced on 2 March 2018. The retrospective commencement is non-prejudicial and does not adversely affect a person's rights or imposes liabilities on a person in accordance with ss75A, 75B and 76 of the Legislation Act. The instrument commences retrospectively to ensure continuity of membership from when the previous appointments expired on 1 March 2018.

Section 3 – Climate Change Council Chair appointment

By this section the Minister appoints Professor Barbara Norman as Chair of the Council.

Section 4 – Term of appointment

This section sets the term of the appointment as Chair as being for the period 2 March 2018 until 30 June 2019. This coincides with Professor Norman's appointment as a Council member which is made through a separate instrument.