## **AUSTRALIAN CAPITAL TERRITORY**

## Community and Health Services Complaints Act 1993

## **APPOINTMENTS**

**INSTRUMENT NO. 260 OF 2000** 

## **EXPLANATORY STATEMENT**

The Community and Health Rights Advisory Council is established under Section 61 of the *Community and Health Services Complaints Act 1993* (the Act). The Council's membership includes representatives who, in the opinion of the Minister, are qualified, by reason of experience and expertise, to represent the interest of users and providers. Section 63(2) of the Act specifies that the Minister shall appoint the members of the Council by instrument. The attached instruments appoint the following members to the Council:

- Ms Fiona Tito as Chairperson;
- Mr Russell McGowan as a member to represent the interests of users of health services;
- Ms Thelma Hunter as a member to represent the interests of users of services for aged people;
- Mr David Heckendorf as a member to represent the interests of users of services for people with a disability;
- Dr Angus McIntosh as a member to represent the interests of providers;
- Mr Ray Dickinson as a member to represent the interests of providers;
- Ms Susan Norton as a member to contribute to functions of the Council;
  and
- Ms Gwen Wilcox as a member to contribute to functions of the Council.

The period of appointment for the members are staggered between two and three years. This is to ensure continuity of the Council in future years. None of the appointed members or Chairperson are public servants, therefore, under paragraph 6(a) of the *Statutory Appointments Act 1994*, the instruments of appointment are disallowable instruments.

Consultation with the Standing Committee on Health and Community Care regarding the appointments has taken place in accordance with the *Statutory Appointments Act 1994*.