AUSTRALIAN CAPITAL TERRITORY

HEALTH PROFESSIONS BOARDS (PROCEDURES) ACT 1981

MEDICAL PRACTITIONERS ACT 1930

EXPLANATORY STATEMENT

The Medical Practitioners Act 1930 (the Act) provides for the registration of persons engaged in medical practice and for other purposes. Section 7 of the Act establishes the Board and section 8 provides for the constitution of the Board. Paragraph 8(1)(a) of the Act requires that the chairperson and three (3) other members be appointed in accordance with the Health Professions Boards (Procedures) Act 1981 (Procedures Act).

The terms of office of Dr Angus McIntosh as Chair, and Dr Lybie Hillman, Dr John Donovan and Dr Sashi Kumar as members, came to an end on 5 June 2000.

After consideration of the applicants to fill these positions, it was recommend that Dr Heather Munro be appointed as Chair, Dr Lybus Hillman be re-appointed as a member, and Dr Tony Sangster and Dr Brenda Tait be appointed as members on the Board. The Instruments of Appointment are considered to be disallowable instruments, as none of those being appointed are ACT Public Servants.

The Standing Committee for Health and Community Care are currently being consulted on the appointments.