## **Civil Law (Wrongs) Professional Standards Council Appointment 2022 (No 1)**

## Notifiable instrument NI2022-436

made under the

Civil Law (Wrongs) Act 2002, schedule 4, s 4.38, (Membership of council)

## **EXPLANATORY STATEMENT**

All States and Territories have enacted legislation which enables the establishment of a national Professional Standards Council, which is made up of individual jurisdictional councils. The objects of the legislation are to constitute Professional Standards Councils, to enable the creation of schemes to limit the civil liability of professionals and others, to facilitate the improvement of occupational standards, and to protect consumers.

Section 4.36 of schedule 4 of the *Civil Law (Wrongs) Act 2002* provides for the establishment of the ACT Professional Standards Council (PSC). The ACT PSC consists of eleven people appointed by the Minister who have the experience, skills and qualifications the Minister considers appropriate to enable them to make a contribution to the work of the ACT PSC.

All States and Territories have agreed to appoint the same eleven members to their Professional Standards Councils. The Professional Standards Councils will be comprised of one member nominated by each of the States and Territories and the Commonwealth, with the exception of NSW and Victoria, which will nominate two.

Victoria has appointed Mr John Vines as a member and Chairperson of its Professional Standards Council beginning 11 May 2022 until 31 December 2024.

The instrument appoints Mr Vines as a member of the ACT PSC until 31 December 2024.

The Minister is satisfied that Mr Vines possesses the experience, skills and qualifications to enable him to make a contribution to the work of the ACT PSC.

Mr Vines is not a public servant as defined under the *Legislation Act* 2001. Due to the amendments progressed in the *Justice and Community Safety Legislation Amendment Bill* 2021 (JACS Bill), the requirement for consultation with the Standing Committee on Justice and Community Safety does not apply to the appointment of a person who

is already a member of an appropriate council in another jurisdiction to the roles of member, Deputy Chairperson or Chairperson of the ACTPSC.