## APPOINTMENTS TO THE DENTAL TECHNICIANS AND DENTAL PROSTHETISTS BOARD OF THE AUSTRALIAN CAPITAL TERRITORY

## **INSTRUMENT NO. 56 OF 2000**

## **EXPLANATORY STATEMENT**

The *Dental Technicians and Dental Prosthetists Registration Act 1988* (the Act) provides for the registration of Dental Technicians and Dental Prosthetists in the Australian Capital Territory.

The Board is established to provide registration of suitably qualified dental technicians and dental prosthetists and related matters, in the interests of public safety. It does this by administering the Act through the educational, professional and disciplinary provisions contained within the Act.

Section 5 of the Act establishes the Dental Technicians and Dental Prosthetists Board (the Board) and section 6 provides for the constitution of the Board. Paragraph 7(1)(a) requires that each member shall be appointed in writing by the Minister.

All six positions on the Board will became vacant on 19 December 1999. Vacancies on the Board were notified by a newsletter mailed to all registered dental technicians and dental prosthetists. The period for nominations closed on 10 September 1999.

In making the appointments consideration was given to legislative requirements, representation from government and private sectors of the profession and the continuity of Board business.

Six persons nominated for positions on the Board. Current members who renominated are: Terry McHugh (dental prosthetist) and the current Chairperson has renominated for the position of Chairperson; Julia Collins (dental prosthetist) and current Deputy Chairperson has renominated as a member; Tony Eames (dental technician) current member has renominated for membership; Christopher Lathbury (non-health professional) current member has renominated for membership.

The following nominees will be undertaking their first term of office on the Board. Christopher McCarthy (registered dental prosthetist in private practice) and John Tomas (registered dental technician and laboratory owner).

All nominees are eligible for appointment. Appointments to the Board are for a period of three years from date of gazettal.

After consideration by Cabinet the appointments were referred to the Standing Committee on Health and Community Care of the Legislative Assembly in accordance with the requirements of the *Statutory Appointments Act 1994*.