AUSTRALIAN CAPITAL TERRITORY

CLINICAL PRIVILEGES COMMITTEE

APPOINTMENT OF COMMITTEE

EXPLANATORY STATEMENT

INSTRUMENT NO. 56 OF 1999

The Clinical Privileges Committee is established pursuant to Section 7 (c) of the Health Act 1993.

The functions of the Clinical Privileges Committee are to investigate, assess, review and evaluate the clinical privileges provided to health providers and to report and make recommendations in relation to whether those clinical privileges should be preserved, varied or withdrawn.

The membership of the Clinical Privileges Committee has been reconstituted to reflect organisational changes and there have also been changes in individuals occupying relevant positions, necessitating re-appointment of the Committee.

The membership for the Committee consists of the Chief Executive Officer of The Canberra Hospital, the Associate Dean of the Canberra Clinical School and the chairs of each of the representative Divisions.

Consultation with the Health and Community Care Service Board has taken place in accordance with Section 7(c) of the health Act 1993.