#### **AUSTRALIAN CAPITAL TERRITORY**

# **GAMBLING AND RACING CONTROL ACT 1999**

# **APPOINTMENT**

### **INSTRUMENT NO. 285 OF 1999**

#### **EXPLANATORY STATEMENT**

Section 12 of the *Gambling and Racing Control Act 1999* (the Act) provides that the Gambling and Racing Commission shall consist of –

- (a) the Chief Executive; and
- (b) four other ordinary members of whom one shall have knowledge, experience or qualifications related to providing counselling services to problem gamblers.

Item 2(1) of SCHEDULE 1 to the Act provides that the Minister shall appoint eligible persons to be ordinary members.

Item 3(1) of SCHEDULE 1 to the Act provides that the Minister shall appoint an ordinary member as chairperson of the Commission.

Item 5(1) of SCHEDULE 1 to the Act provides that a member of the Commission is appointed for the term of office, not exceeding 3 years, specified in the instrument of appointment.

This Instrument appoints Mr John Broome as an ordinary member and as chairperson of the Commission for the term 1 January 2000 to 30 November 2002.