## **EXPLANATORY STATEMENT**

## **INSTRUMENT OF APPOINTMENT**

Division 2 of the *Bookmakers Act 1985* ("the Act") establishes the Bookmakers Licensing Committee ("the Committee") and outlines its functions, powers and membership.

Section 9(1) of the Act outlines that the Committee shall consist of seven part-time members appointed by the Chief Minister:-

- three of whom shall be nominees of the Chief Minister;
- one of whom shall be nominated by the ACT Racing Club Inc.;
- one of whom shall be nominated by the Canberra Harness Racing Club Inc.;
- · one of whom shall be nominated by the Canberra Greyhound Racing Club Inc.; and
- one of whom shall be nominated by the ACT Bookmakers Association.

A member of the Committee is appointed for a period not exceeding three years and is eligible for re-appointment.

This Instrument appoints the members of the Committee until 25 July 2001.