## AUSTRALIAN CAPITAL TERRITORY PAROLE ACT 1976

## **APPOINTMENT**

## **INSTRUMENT NO. 185 OF 1998**

## **EXPLANATORY STATEMENT**

The Parole Act 1976 (the Act), amongst other things, governs the constitution and functions of the Parole Board of the ACT (the Board). The Board's function is to consider and make orders about the release of prisoners on parole, and the discipline of parolees. The establishment and constitution of the Board is provided for by section 9 of the Act. This requires that the Minister appoint a Chairperson and four other members, one of whom will be female and one of whom will be male. Section 9A stipulates that appointments may be for a period not exceeding three years.

This instrument re-appoints Professor David Hambly as Chairperson, and Pamela Melrose Burton and Keith Joseph Clarke as members of the Board, for a further three years. Consultation occurred with the Standing Committee on Legal Affairs regarding the proposed appointment, and the Committee indicated it had no objection to it proceeding.

This instrument takes effect from 28 July 1998. This will enable Professor Hambly to continue his work as Chair of the Board on the expiration of his current appointment. It will enable Ms Burton to continue her work as a member of the Board, on the expiration of her current appointment, and will provide for a female member to serve on the Board, who will assist in ensuring a quorum is available for all meetings. It will also enable Mr Clarke to continue his work as a member of the Board on the expiration of his current appointment, and will assist in ensuring a quorum is available for all meetings.