AUSTRALIAN CAPITAL TERRITORY

BOARD OF SENIOR SECONDARY STUDIES ACT 1997

APPOINTMENTS

EXPLANATORY STATEMENT

INSTRUMENT NO 35 TO 49 OF 1998

The Board of Senior Secondary Studies Act 1997 established a Board to undertake accreditation and registration of courses for recognised educational institutions the provision of procedures for the assessment of senior secondary students, the issue of certificates of attainment and the provision of advice to the Minister on related matters. Administrative procedures are provided for the review of decisions to refuse accreditation and to review decisions to refuse a certificate

Section 4 of the Act established the Board of Senior Secondary Studies and section 8 provides for the appointment of a chairperson and members to the Board by the Minister

The Minister has appointed the following engineers on and members to the Board until 31 December 2000

| Mr Setwyn Comis'i | Chair |
|-------------------------|-------|
| Dr Bob Bryce | Memo |
| Professor Livio Bonoilo | Memb |
| Ms Rita Daniels | Memo |
| Mrs Frances Menz | Memo |
| Mr James Roberts | Viemo |
| Mr David Gregory | Memo |
| Mr Chris Peters | Memo |
| | |

Chairperson Member Member Member Member Member Member Member

Authorised by the ACT Parliamentary Counsel-also accessible at www.legislation.act.gov.au

Board of Senior Secondary Studies - Membership

| Organisation | Member | Alternate |
|---|-------------------------|-------------------------|
| Chairperson | Selwyn Cornish | |
| Canberra Institute of Technology | Ms Helen O'Brien | Mr Derek Arkle |
| Vocational Education and Training Authority | Mr Peter Gordon | Mr Bob Taylor |
| Australian National University | Dr Bob Bryce | Dr David Blaazer |
| University of Canberra | Professor Livio Bonollo | Professor Kerry Kennedy |
| Association of Independent Schools | Ms Rita Daniels | Mrs Molly Brownbill |
| ACT branch of the Australian Education Union | ТВА | |
| Catholic Education Commission | Mrs Frances Menz | Mr Peter McPherson |
| Secondary College Principals' | Ms Helen Strauch | Mr Tony McGloughlin |
| ACT Council of Parents and Citizens Associations | Mr James Roberts | Ms Gay Landau |
| Association of Parents and Friends of the ACT Schools Inc | Mr David Gregory | Mrs Gabrielle Jarvis |
| ACT and Region Chamber of Commerce and Industry | Mr Chins Peters | - |
| Trades and Labour Council of the ACT Inc | ТВА | |
| Chief Executive DET | Ms Fran Hinton | Ms Sandra Lambert |
| Executive Officer BSSS | Mr Bob Edwards | |

Authorised by the ACT Parliamentary Counsel-also accessible at www.legislation.act.gov.au

•

- -

Section 11 provides for the Minister to appoint alternate members to the Board. The Minister has appointed the following as alternate members until 31 December 2000

Mr Bob TaylorAltDr David BlaazerAltProfessor Kerry KennedyAltMrs Molly BrownbillAltMr Peter McPhersonAltMs Gay LandauAltMrs Gabnelle JarvisAlt

Alternate Member Alternate Member Alternate Member Alternate Member Alternate Member Alternate Member

In accordance with Section 4 of the Statutory Appointments Act 1994 the Standing Committee on Social Policy was consulted on the appointments

Authorised by the ACT Parliamentary Counsel-also accessible at www.legislation.act.gov.au

- -