## **AUSTRALIAN CAPITAL TERRITORY**

## **CANBERRA THEATRE TRUST ACT 1965**

## **APPOINTMENT**

## **EXPLANATORY STATEMENT**

No. 55 of 1996

The Canberra Theatre Trust Act 1965 governs the establishment and constitution of the Canberra Theatre Trust.

Section 6(1) of the Act deals with the appointment of trustees and requires such appointments to be made by the Minister and to be notified in the *Gazette*.

Section 6(2) of the Act requires the Minister to specify the period, not exceeding five years, of the term of office of the appointee.

Section 7(1) of the Act deals with the appointment of a trustee as the Chairperson of the Trust and requires such appointments to be made by the Minister

This instrument appoints Mr Ian Fraser Meikle as a member and Chair of the Canberra Theatre Trust until 31 October 1999.

This appointment has effect from 1 January 1996 but does not offend against the Subordinate Laws Act 1989 as the retrospectivity will not have any detrimental effect

Authorised by the ACT Parliamentary Counsel-also accessible at www.legislation.act.gov.au